spacerArtarmon Progress Association Logo
     Established 1914
decor line     Home Home | LinksLinks | Contact Us Contact Us

News and Events

Gazette Article

Michelle sweeps the polls

Former APA president Michelle Sloane swept the Naremburn ward polls in the local government elections on September 8 as Artarmon and Naremburn ward voters put their trust in the former long-time Artarmon resident to represent them on WCC.

Michelle gained her council seat with the most votes out of the 12 independent candidates vying for the two Naremburn ward seats Barry Thompson and Kate Lamb had vacated.

At first count, before postal, pre-poll and silent votes had been counted, the final NSW Election Commission figures showed Sloane’s Group C led with 2,427; followed by incumbent Stuart Coppock’s Group D, 2,178; and young, former Artarmon resident Nic Wright’s Group B, 1,978.

By September 15, Sloane had gained most of the above the line votes at 2,193; followed by Coppock, 1,970; Wright, 1,733; and Vanessa Adams, 493. Wright led the below the line count with 245 votes; followed closely by Sloane at 234; Coppock, 208; Adams, 38; Susan Biggs and former APA president Robert Newman, both on Michelle’s ticket, 27 and 16, respectively; Artarmon resident Glenda Gartrell and April Pressler, both on Wright’s ticket, 14 and 11, respectively; Orla Murphy on Coppock’s ticket, 9; Abbas Abroon and Alan Tomlinson on Adam’s ticket, each 8; and Robert Manning on Stuart’s ticket, who came last with 6 votes. Sloane’s group had a final vote of 2,470; followed by Coppock, 2,193; Wright, 2,003; and Adams, 547.

Sloane’s group received 35% of the vote, while Coppock and Wright’s groups received 27% each.

Sloane and Wright join Angelo Ruzos (Middle Harbour ward) and Hugh Erikson (Sailors Bay ward) among WCC’s new faces, while Tony Moustaca (West ward) returns after losing his seat in the 2008 elections. Apart from Greens candidate Lynne Saville (West ward), the remaining 11 councillors voted in are independent.

In the mayoral race, Pat Reilly was returned with a final vote of 17,470 against Coppock’s 15,330. At the first council meeting, Coppock was voted in as deputy mayor, taking over in that role from Wendy Norton.

by Eva Wiland, Gazette editor

Courtesy of Gazette November 2012
arrow Previous -  Next arrow


Michelle Sloane
Councillor Michelle Sloane


Nic Wright
Councillor Nic Wright





    Home | About Us | News and Events | Artarmon Gazette | Artarmon Fair | Young Artarmon
Heritage and Conservation | Local Information | Links and Sponsors | Contact Us
© 2018 - Artarmon Progress Association Inc.
Website terms of use.