spacerArtarmon Progress Association Logo
     Established 1914
decor line     Home Home | LinksLinks | Contact Us Contact Us

News and Events

Gazette Article

Hot contest for Naremburn seats

There will be a hot contest for the three Naremburn Ward seats on Willoughby City Council in the lead up to the September 8 local elections after two seats were vacated by outgoing councillors Kate Lamb and Barry Thompson.

Based on the nominations on August 8 and the information at hand as the Artarmon Gazette went to print, 12 candidates are standing for the three seats – seven independents, three Labor and two Liberal candidates.

In group A is Naremburn resident Vanessa Adams, who is running, independent with two Liberals on her ticket – North Willoughby resident Abbas Abroon and Willoughby resident Alan Tomlinson.

In group B is lifelong Willoughby City resident Nic Wright, 29, who is running a Labor ticket with Artarmon resident Glenda Gartrell and April Pressler of Naremburn. Nic has been involved in several not-for-profit organisations. A former Artarmon Public School student, Nic is basing his campaign on a keen interest in social engagement. He is passionate about delivering results to ensure Willoughby remains a great place to live, work and relax.

Ex APA president Michelle Sloane is in group C, independent (see: On her ticket are Susan Biggs, Naremburn resident and Robert Newman, Artarmon resident and also a former APA president. They stand for active engagement and involvement in the community; local support for the aged, including appropriate housing; and protecting, maintaining and restoring the area’s natural and built environments. “We are focused on representing everyone in that community in an open and honest way,” Michelle told the Artarmon Gazette.

In group D is Stuart Coppock, who is seeking re-election as an independent. On his ticket are independents Robert Manning and Orla Murphy, both Naremburn residents. He is also standing for Willoughby Mayor, challenging long time incumbent Pat Reilly.

Stuart’s “Believe in better” mayoral campaign kicked off on July 25 (see: His election promises include new lighting for Artarmon Reserve; a yearly Willoughby City musical and arts festival; preserve residents parking outside their homes; an “arms length” review of the council’s finances; and commitment to Artarmon’s conservation areas. “Master planning is a proven way to proceed with urban change,” he said at his campaign launch. “West Artarmon is a solid example of this. The [NSW] Government’s green paper provides an opportunity to approach town planning [this way] but it also provides a serious challenge to retain some of our land use gains.”

APA is inviting all the nominated candidates for Naremburn Ward to a public meeting on Wednesday, August 29, at 7:15pm, at Artarmon Community Hall at 139 Artarmon Rd.

by Eva Wiland, Gazette editor

Courtesy of Gazette August 2012
arrow Previous -  Next arrow


Nic Wright
Glenda Gatrell
Group B - Nic Wright, Glenda Gatrell


Michelle Sloane
Susan BiggsRobert Newman
Group C - Michelle Sloane, Susan Biggs and Robert Newman


Stuart Coppock
Group D - Stuart Coppock





    Home | About Us | News and Events | Artarmon Gazette | Artarmon Fair | Young Artarmon
Heritage and Conservation | Local Information | Links and Sponsors | Contact Us
© 2018 - Artarmon Progress Association Inc.
Website terms of use.